UNE Secures Seventh Straight at CCC Women’s Cross Country Championship

UNE Secures Seventh Straight at CCC Women’s Cross Country Championship


WENHAM, Mass. – The University of New England continued its streak of consecutive Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Women's Cross Country Championships, capturing its seventh straight title on Saturday (Oct. 27) at Gordon College. The Nor'easters scored 27 points at the meet.

Senior Emily Wasina (Waterboro, Maine) took home Runner of the Year honors this year as the top finisher in the race. She covered the 6-kilometer course in 22:50.5. Wasina was just the first of six Nor'easters to earn All-Conference honors. UNE runners finished in each of the spots between fifth and eighth. Jasmine Syed (Canterbury, N.H) led the group followed by Katie Correnty (Newport Coast, Calif.), Dani Jewell (Dover, N.H.), and Kiera Murray (Falmouth, Maine) in that order. Jewell was also this year's Rookie of the Year as the first rookie to cross the finish line. Steph Snow (Dunbarton, N.H.) tied for 15th to also earn All-Conference honors.

Three Salve Regina runners landed in All-Conference spots, helping the Seahawks to a runner-up finish as a team with a score of 72. Olivia Owen (Weymouth, Mass.) was the first one to cross the finish line in fourth place. Alex Demeo (Burlington, Mass.), who finished in ninth, and Christina Moran (Oceanside, N.Y.), who finished 11th, were the other two All-Conference performers.

Endicott was third in the team standings with 80 points and had two runners garner All-Conference recognition. Emma Farrington (Essex Junction, Vt.) ran the course in 23:36 to take third place, while teammate Aleah MacKay (Bedford, N.H.) placed 10th. The Gulls' Abigail Keim (Williston, Vt.) was also named the Senior Scholar-Athlete.

Roger Williams' Sarah Mawdsley (Sandy Hook, Conn.) was just 1.5 seconds off Wasina's pace and finished second overall with a time of 22:52.0. Hannah Kaplan (Lebanon, Conn.) also land in an All-Conference spot at 14th, helping the Hawks to a fourth place finish.

Gordon's Angie Epplett (Uxbridge, Mass.) was the Fighting Scots lone All-Conference honoree at 12th place as they finished sixth as a team. They were also recognized with the Team Sportsmanship award.

Western New England had two All-Conference runners with Meagan Dias (Ludlow, Mass.) placing 13th and Brooke Townsend (Portland, Conn.) tying for 15th. The Golden Bears were the sixth place finisher followed by Nichols and Curry.

UNE head coach Ron Ouellette earned his eighth consecutive and ninth overall CCC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year honor.



1. University of New England – 27
2. Salve Regina – 72
3. Endicott – 80
4. Roger Williams – 100
5. Gordon – 106
6. Western New England – 125
7. Nichols – 233
8. Curry – 241



1. Emily Wasina, University of New England - 22:50.5
2. Sarah Mawdsley, Roger Williams - 22:52.0
3. Emma Farrington, Endicott - 23:36.0
4. Olivia Owen, Salve Regina - 23:57.6
5. Jasmine Syed, University of New England - 24:02.9
6. Katie Correnty, University of New England - 24:03.9
7. Dani Jewell, University of New England - 24:08.8
8. Kiera Murray, University of New England - 24:10.4
9. Alex Demeo, Salve Regina - 24:14.9
10. Aleah MacKay, Endicott - 24:15.1
11. Christina Moran, Salve Regina - 24:17.3
12. Angie Epplett, Gordon - 24:21.0
13. Meagan Dias, Western New England - 24:25.0
14. Hannah Kaplan, Roger Williams - 24:31.2
T-15. Steph Snow, University of New England - 24:31.4
T-15. Brooke Townsend, Western New England - 24:31.4

Runner of the Year – Emily Wasina, University of New England
Rookie of the Year
– Dani Jewell, University of New England
Senior Scholar-Athlete – Abigail Keim, Endicott
Coach of the Year – Ron Ouellette, University of New England
Team Sportsmanship – Gordon



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.


Stay up to date with all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!