Roger Williams Repeats as CCC Women’s Track & Field Champions

Roger Williams Repeats as CCC Women’s Track & Field Champions


PORTSMOUTH, R.I. – Roger Williams repeated as Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Women's Track and Field Champions on Saturday (April 27) with a score of 187 at the championship meet which was held at Portsmouth High School in Portsmouth, R.I.

Five CCC varsity women's teams competed in the 19-event championship which included 11 track events and eight field events. Salve Regina finished as the CCC runner-up for the second year in a row posting 155 points. Gordon followed close behind, compiling 122 points for third place. Endicott and Nichols finished fourth and fifth, scoring 78 and 43 team points, respectively.

Individual championships in eight of the 19 events had a significant impact on the Hawks' success. Sophomore Madison Fancher (Gloversville, N.Y.) earned three titles, winning both the 100 and 400 meter hurdles, plus finishing first in the high jump. Sophomore Siobhan Mitchell (West Newbury, Mass.) also claimed multiple championships, taking the 800 meter and 1500 meter titles. Three other Roger Williams student-athletes won events with Sarah Mawdsley (Sandy Hook, Conn.) winning the three-kilometer race, Shirah Strock (Castleton, N.Y.) winning the pole vault, and Savannah Fox Tree-McGrath (Billerica, Mass.) winning the javelin.

Each of the medalists at Saturday's championship will be named to the All-Conference teams with gold medalists earning First Team All-Conference honors, silver medalists earning Second Team All-Conference recognition, and bronze medalists being named to the Third Team. Additionally, the five CCC head coaches will vote on major postseason awards next week. Following the voting period the conference will recognize a Runner of the Year, Rookie Runner of the Year, Field Performer of the Year, Field Rookie of the Year, and a CCC Scholar-Athlete. Coaches will also be voting on winners for Coach of the Year and Team Sportsmanship.

The CCC Men's Invitational was also held on Saturday with Nichols claiming the Invitational title. The men's event remains an invitational because of the small number of CCC institutions sponsoring men's track as a varsity sport.



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!