Nichols Earns Top Seed In CCC Women’s Tennis Tournament For Fourth Straight Year

Nichols Earns Top Seed In CCC Women’s Tennis Tournament For Fourth Straight Year


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Nichols completed a flawless conference slate for the fourth year in a row to claim the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Regular-Season title and will serve as the No. 1 seed in the CCC Women’s Tennis Championship.

The Bison finished the regular season with a 7-0 conference (10-1 overall) record and receive a bye into the semifinal round of the conference tournament. The CCC Regular-Season Champions are in search of their fourth consecutive CCC Tournament title.

Nichols has been strong all year dropping only a single dual match by a one-point margin. The Bison also have five 9-0 decisions, including four in conference play.

Roger Williams earned the No. 2 seed in this year’s bracket with a 6-1 conference (11-1 overall) record. The Hawks only dual match loss was the conference setback against the Bison last week. RWU is strong up and down the lineup as it has won six 9-0 results and carried an 8-1 advantage in four others. It will be aiming for its first appearance in the CCC Championship match since 2015. As the No. 2 seed, Roger Williams also receives a bye into the semifinals.

The Bison and Hawks will await the winners of the two quarterfinal matches which will take place on Wednesday, Oct. 16. Endicott and Gordon will host those two matches with the Gulls earning the No. 3 seed with a 5-2 CCC (9-3 overall) record and the Fighting Scots landing in the four spot after going 4-3 in conference (6-6 overall) year. Both matches will take place at 2 p.m. with No. 6 seed Salve Regina (2-5 CCC, 3-7 overall) travelling to Endicott and No. 5 seed Western New England (3-4 CCC, 5-4 overall) going to Gordon.

The semifinal round will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 22 with match times to be announced after the quarterfinal round. The top-seeded Bison will host the winner of the Gordon-WNE match, while the Gulls will host the Endicott-Salve winner.

The two semifinal winners will advance to compete in the 2019 CCC Women’s Tennis Championship match on Saturday, Oct. 26. The winner of the title match will be named the 2019 CCC Women’s Tennis Tournament Champion and earn the conference’s automatic qualifier into the 2020 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championship in the spring.



All matches hosted by higher seed

Quarterfinals – Wednesday, Oct. 16

#5 Western New England at #4 Gordon, 2 p.m.
#6 Salve Regina at #3 Endicott, 2 p.m.

Semifinals – Tuesday, Oct. 22

#4/5 winner at #1 Nichols, TBD
#3/6 winner at #2 Roger Williams, TBD

Finals – Saturday, Oct. 26

Semifinal winners, TBA



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports. In 2020, the conference will expand to 10 full members and 19 championship sports with the addition of Suffolk University and women’s ice hockey, respectively.


Stay up to date with all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!