Salve Regina Repeats As CCC Men’s Ice Hockey Regular-Season Champion, Earns Top Tournament Seed

Salve Regina Repeats As CCC Men’s Ice Hockey Regular-Season Champion, Earns Top Tournament Seed


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – For the second year in a row Salve Regina will enter the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament as the No. 1 seed.

The Seahawks will be looking to improve on their CCC Tournament showing from a year ago as they were knocked out in the CCC Semifinals by eventual tournament champion Nichols.

Salve earned the top seed in this year’s tournament with 13-3-1 conference (17-6-2 overall) record and 27 points in the conference standings. As the top seed in the conference, the Seahawks earn a bye directly into the CCC Semifinals.

Curry, which went 11-4-2 in CCC play (16-6-3 overall) and earned 24 points in the standings, will also receive a first round bye in the tournament.

The remaining four CCC Tournament qualifiers will play quarterfinal matchups on Wednesday, Feb. 20 with the No. 3 seed University of New England (11-5-1 CCC, 17-6-2 overall) and No. 4 seed Nichols (9-6-2 CCC, 11-11-3 overall) playing host. The Nor’easters will host No. 6 seed Wentworth (6-10-1 CCC, 8-13-4 overall) at 7 p.m. in one semifinal and the Bison will host No. 5 seed Endicott (9-8-0 CCC, 15-8-2 overall) at 7:10 p.m. in the other.

Following the quarterfinals the teams will be re-seeded for the semifinals, which take place on Saturday, Feb. 23. The lowest remaining seed will head to Salve Regina for one semifinal, while the second lowest seed will travel to Curry. Game times for the semifinal round will be determined after the completion of the first round.

The two semifinal winners earn a trip to the CCC Men’s Ice Hockey Championship which takes place on Saturday, March 2. The winner will be named the CCC Tournament Champion will receive the conference’s automatic qualifier into the 2019 NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.


Tournament Schedule
(Games hosted by the higher seed)

Quarterfinals – Wednesday, Feb. 20

#6 Wentworth at #3 University of New England, 7 p.m.
#5 Endicott at #4 Nichols, 7:10 p.m.

Semifinals – Saturday, Feb. 23

Lowest remaining seed at #1 Salve Regina, TBD
Second lowest remaining seed at #2 Curry, TBD

Finals – Saturday, March 2

Semifinal winners at higher seed, TBD



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.



Stay up to date with all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!