Nichols Earns CCC Women’s Tennis Regular-Season Championship, Tournament Pairings Released

Nichols Earns CCC Women’s Tennis Regular-Season Championship, Tournament Pairings Released


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Nichols won the battle of Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) undefeated women’s tennis teams on Saturday (Oct. 6) afternoon, 6-3, to earn the CCC Regular-Season Championship and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming CCC Women’s Tennis Championship Tournament.

The Bison finished the regular season with a 7-0 conference (11-0 overall) record and will be advanced automatically into the CCC Semifinals. Nichols has not lost a dual match this season and earns its third straight CCC Regular-Season Championship. The Bison have also won the CCC Tournament Championship for the past two seasons and will be seeking their third straight this year. They have only lost four individual matches in conference play this year.

Endicott, which received its first dual match loss of the season on Saturday, will be the No. 2 seed in the tournament and also receives a bye into the semifinals. The Gulls had a 6-1 CCC (11-1 overall) record.

The Bison and Gulls will await the winners of the two quarterfinal matches which will take place on Wednesday, Oct. 10. Gordon (5-2 CCC, 6-4 overall) and Salve Regina (4-3 CCC, 5-3 overall) will each host a quarterfinal as the No. 3 and No. 4 seed, respectively. The Fighting Scots matchup with No. 6 seed Western New England (2-5 CCC, 2-6 overall) at 4 p.m. and the Seahawks will meet the No. 5 seed Roger Williams (3-4 CCC, 6-5 overall) at 2 p.m.

The semifinal round will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 16 with match times to be announced after the quarterfinal round. The top-seeded Bison will host the winner of the Salve-Roger Williams match, while the Gulls will host the Gordon-WNE winner.

The two semifinal winners will advance to compete in the 2018 CCC Women’s Tennis Championship match on Saturday, Oct. 20. The winner of the title match will be named the 2018 CCC Women’s Tennis Tournament Champion and earn the conference’s automatic qualifier into the 2019 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championship in the spring.



All matches hosted by higher seed

Quarterfinals – Wednesday, Oct. 10

#6 Western New England at #3 Gordon, 4 p.m.
#5 Roger Williams at #4 Salve Regina, 2 p.m.

Semifinals – Tuesday, Oct. 16

#4/5 winner at #1 Nichols, TBA
#3/6 winner at #2 Endicott, TBA

Finals – Saturday, Oct. 20

Semifinal winners, TBA



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!