Nichols Wins CCC Women’s Tennis Regular-Season Title, Earns No. 1 Seed in Tournament

Nichols Wins CCC Women’s Tennis Regular-Season Title, Earns No. 1 Seed in Tournament


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Nichols completed its second straight 8-0 (12-2 overall) Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) regular season to claim the 2017 CCC Regular-Season Championship and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming CCC Women’s Tennis Championship Tournament.

The defending CCC Tournament Champions earned a bye directly into the CCC Semifinals with its strong season. Endicott, which had won five straight CCC titles before being dethroned by the Bison last year, also earned a bye as the No. 2 seed this year. The Gulls completed a 7-1 CCC (9-2 overall) season with their only conference loss coming in a 5-4 decision to Nichols in their league opener.

Roger Williams and Gordon, which finished as the No. 3 and No. 4 seeds respectively, will serve as hosts for the two CCC Quarterfinal matches set to take place on Wednesday, Oct. 11. The Hawks, which posted a 6-2 CCC (10-3 overall) record, will host No. 6 seed Western New England, which went 4-4 in CCC play (5-4 overall), in one quarterfinal at 3:30 p.m. The other quarterfinal will feature the Fighting Scots, 5-3 (6-4 overall) performers in the CCC regular season, and No. 5 seed Eastern Nazarene, which finished 4-4 in the CCC (9-4 overall). That match is scheduled to begin at 4 p.m. and will be the Lions first CCC Tournament appearance since 2004.

The winner of the Gordon-Eastern Nazarene match will meet the top-seeded Bison in one semifinal on Tuesday, Oct. 17. The other semifinal will match the winner of the Roger Williams-Western New England contest with the second-seeded Gulls on the same day.

The two semifinal winners will advance to compete in the CCC Women’s Tennis Championship match on Saturday, Oct. 21. The winner of the title match will be named the 2017 CCC Women’s Tennis Tournament Champion and earn the conference’s automatic qualifier into the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis Championship.



All matches hosted by higher seed

Quarterfinals – Wednesday, Oct. 11

#6 Western New England at #3 Roger Williams, 3:30 p.m.
#5 Eastern Nazarene at #4 Gordon, 4 p.m.

Semifinals – Tuesday, Oct. 17

#4/5 winner at #1 Nichols, TBA
#3/6 winner at #2 Endicott, TBA

Finals – Saturday, Oct. 21

Semifinal winners, TBA




The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of ten full member and four associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!