UNE Wins First CCC Women’s Soccer Tournament Championship Since 2000

UNE Wins First CCC Women’s Soccer Tournament Championship Since 2000


Courtesy of the University of New England Sports Information Department.

BIDDEFORD, Maine – Avery Bond (Jefferson, Maine) headed home a corner kick service in the 44th minute of play to provide the difference as third-seeded University of New England claimed the 2018 Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) Women's Soccer Championship with a 1-0 victory over fourth-seeded Western New England University on Saturday afternoon (Nov. 3) at UNE Blue Storm Stadium.

The Nor'easters (10-7-2) secure their second CCC title in program history, along with the league's automatic berth into the 2018 NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Championship that begins next Saturday. UNE will be making its second appearance in the national tournament, 18 years removed from the first trip back in 2000. The 64-team field will be announced on Monday at 1:30 p.m. on NCAA.com.

The scoring play started with a Jessie Maywalt (Wall, N.J.) corner kick from the left side, finding Bond in the middle of the box for the shot inside the right post. The tally was the first of the season for the CCC Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
The Nor'easter defense kept the Golden Bears off the board in the second half. Western New England nearly knotted the score in the 66th minute after Bee Murphy (Monson, Mass.) hit the crossbar with a free kick from just outside the box. Later, a shot by Vanessa Chiarella (Hampden, Mass.) nearly went in from close range, but defender Peyton Janelle (Biddeford, Maine)stopped the threat at the right post.
Both goalkeepers were stellar on the afternoon, as Jenna Pannone (Prospect, Conn.) (CCC 1st Team) made four saves for UNE and Alex Lemekha (Stamford, Conn.) (CCC 3rd Team) had seven for the Golden Bears. The Nor'easters did not allow a goal on its way to the championship.

Western New England wraps up its year with a record of 8-8-5.



All matches hosted by higher seed

Quarterfinals – Sunday, Oct. 28

#2 Gordon def. #7 Wentworth, 2-0 | BOX
#3 University of New England def. #6 Salve Regina, 4-0 | BOX
#4 Western New England def. #5 Roger Williams, 1-1 (pen. 3-0) | BOX

Semifinals – Wednesday, Oct. 31

#4 Western New England def. #1 Endicott, 0-0 (pen.4-3) | BOX
#3 University of New England def. #2 Gordon, 1-0 | BOX

Finals – Saturday, Nov. 3

#3 University of New England def. #4 Western New England, 1-0 | BOX



The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of nine full member and one associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference administers championships in 18 intercollegiate sports.


Stay up to date will all the latest news from the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC)!
'Follow' us on
 Twitter and Instagram, and 'Like' us on Facebook!